Mission: Possible was a virtual success!

WTNH’s Dennis House as this year’s emcee

By: Sandy Barrow, American Red Cross

As a Red Cross volunteer, I’ve seen first-hand how the Red Cross has had to adapt and change during the ongoing pandemic. This year’s annual fundraising event, Mission: Possible 2021 – The Home Edition, held on March 4, was no exception. Instead of dressing up to eat dinner and celebrate with 300 other guests, I tuned into Mission: Possible from the comfort of my living room.

I hope you enjoy my personal review of this event. Want to watch it yourself? Check it out here: https://vimeo.com/519686001/1cfa30999e

The event began with an opportunity for guests to join one of four virtual chat rooms with Red Cross subject matter experts, including “The Need for Blood is Constant”, “Workplace Preparedness”, “Volunteering with the Red Cross” and “Mental Health Matters”.

I joined “Volunteering with the Red Cross” – no surprise here! I listened to volunteers from all different backgrounds share their experiences. It was interesting to hear questions from prospective volunteers and I hope they join the team! I chimed in that my favorite part about volunteering with the Red Cross is the commitment and dedication of everyone involved.

We then transitioned back to the main room, where News 8’s Dennis House emceed the event. I liked how the event maintained its professional presence without compromising because it was virtual. Dennis would pose questions and read out chat responses, which made you truly feel involved. Overall, the event fit nicely into a 40-minute broadcast and was essentially free from interruptive technical issues.

Staying true to the mission, the Red Cross would never gather so many people without giving out disaster preparedness information! Although I think I know how to be Red Cross Ready in the event of a weather crisis, Mission: Possible refreshed information I did not realize I had forgotten. For instance, their concise and attractive video summary reminded me to make a plan, be informed, and to make sure you have copies of important personal documents in your emergency supply kit (adding that one to my list!)

My favorite part about Mission: Possible was engaging in preparedness activities you could do at home – like packing your emergency kit. We were given 30 seconds to collect items that are important to have available in case of an emergency. Chat answers ranged from water and non-perishable snack to hot sauce! This exercise helped me realize how important it is to be prepared and to recognize my unique needs during an emergency, and I downloaded the Red Cross Emergency App on the spot.

It wonderful to see local sponsors’ commitment to supporting the work of the Red Cross. Pitney Bowes was awarded the Community Impact award for their dedicated service to the Red Cross for 65 years!.

Another “mission” accepted by the guests was to practice Hands Only CPR and learn about the importance of lifesaving training. Thank you, Joan, for encouraging us to get up and sing ‘Staying Alive’ while learning chest compressions!

I also enjoyed meeting real life heroes in our community.

Jordan and Chris were presented with the Certificate of Merit Award, the highest award given to an individual or team of individuals who saves or sustains a life by using skills and knowledge learned through the Red Cross. They shared a heartwarming story about saving a referee in crisis at their high school’s basketball game. In addition to demonstrating their lifesaving knowledge and skills, these two coaches remained calm to execute their prepared emergency plan. I was overjoyed to see pictures of the referee with his granddaughter in full recovery.

Owen West also shared his incredible story from the opposite perspective. He explained how he was literally brought back from death after suffering a cardiac arrest in high school. He is fully recovered as well and is now an CPR advocate! These stories were moving, and it was surprising to learn that most people who survive a cardiac emergency are helped by a by stander.

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the silent auction! There was an amazing array of exclusive items, including a Mexican vacation and Meet and Greet with a professional wrestler. Andreina Sosa, Regional Communications Manager, was dynamic and entertaining! Congratulations to all the auction item winners!

Overall, I enjoyed Mission: Possible for the overflow of appreciation in the air. I was happy to hear that the event raised over $295,000 to help propel our mission! From front line workers, sponsors, volunteers an all our guests – everyone was grateful to be a part of the mission together. Mission Possible: wasn’t just about fundraising. The event has elements of learning and connection deeper than your typical Zoom event, and I can’t wait to be a part of it next year!

Here are some pictures from the event. Hope you enjoy them and thanks for reading!

Mario Bruno hands Lifesaver Award to Jordan Napolitano and Chris Passamano

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑